Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In my 2015 year-end review I recommended the short story collection, “Night at the Fiestas”, as a great first book.  Recently, the book earned Ms. Quade the John Leonard Prize. This prize is given by the National Book Critics Circle in memory of John Leonard, the former editor of the New York Times’ Book Review. Prior recipients were Anthony Marra and Phil Klay. The NYT Book Review had also favorably reviewed this collection mentioning that it contained “three legitimate masterpieces”. The one that always sticks in my mind is the reenactment of The Passion Play. Definitely worth your time to get to know Ms. Quade.

In my review of “Lowland” last year I mentioned that former Brooklyn resident, Jhumpa Lahiri, was enthralled about living in Italy and was learning Italian. I surmised that her writing might be turning in a different direction and that she might next publish in Italian. She has now established a beachhead with “in Other Words” a non-fiction memoir in both Italian and English, about language. Italian is her third language after Bengali and English and once she is more sure-footed she likely will try her hand at fiction.

