Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2013:

We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo (Chatto & Windus)
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (Granta)
The Harvest by Jim Crace (Picador)
The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (Bloomsbury)
A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki (Canongate)
The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín (Penguin)

As I previously mentioned I suggested in my earlier book review of Harvest that it was deserving of a prize. Perhaps Mr. Crace will receive his first Man Booker prize this year. Harvest will be his last novel.

He has strong company. What is remarkable is that Ms. Catton is only 28 and this is her second novel. Hard act to follow.

This week was remarkable to me. While the mundane tragedies we inflict on each other continued, Voyager I ventured beyond our solar system. It is 250 years since the first manned balloon flight and 100 years since the first airplane flight. It is remarkable what humanity can achieve when it focuses.

