Tags

, , , , , , ,

New books I have just started or will shortly be starting:

The following are novellas or thematically related short stories:

a. Good Offices by Evelio Rosero. A recipient of Columbia’s National Literature Prize and author of the acclaimed book, Armies. I am about half the way through. It is about a reawakening one night in a Cathedral in Bogota. Have finished this eminently readable book, where one evening an a Cathedral there is redemption from hypocrisy. I recommend this book.

b. The Duel by Heinrich Von Kleist. I have not started this. The author was a well known German playwright. The duel is about God’s judgment. I finished this. The story is simple with God’s law superceding man’s temporal laws.

c. Invitation To a Voyage by Francois Emmanuel. I have not started this. Short stories.

Learning To Pray In the Age of Technique by Goncalvo M. Taveres. The book was the Winner of the 2010 Prix Du Meilleur Livre Etranger and the author is a known Portuguese writer. I have just started it and it is dark, the principal character Lenz Buchmann be evil and amoral. A product of a harsh upbringing.

Aleph by Paulo Coelho. I have not started this yet. The author of the Alchemist. About personal journies.

